Message from State Monitor Chuck Szuberla

Spanish and Haitian-Creole versions of this message are available below

October 14, 2016

I want to thank all of the parents, students and taxpayers who attended the September 28 public meeting with Commissioner MaryEllen Elia, Dr. John Sipple and me. We were joined by Board of Regents Chancellor Betty Rosa, Regent Judith Johnson and Regent Lester Young as well as School Board President Yehuda Weissmendl and Superintendent Deborah Wortham. It was a great opportunity to speak with many of you in person and hear your concerns.

As we discussed at the September 28 meeting, full-day kindergarten for all students began on October 6. I was fortunate enough to visit kindergarten students in Ms. Menarche and Ms. Feinstein’s classes at Summit Park Elementary School.  I was very impressed with the kindergarteners’ enthusiasm and eagerness to learn.

I also watched Ms. Feinstein’s students participate in their first dance class. Instruction in dance, music, theatre and art also launched on October 6 with 4th-6th grade instrumental music for band/orchestra and 6th-grade chorus. If you have any questions on the schedule for the arts programming, you should contact your school’s principal.

On October 7, I visited the educators and students at Ramapo and Spring Valley High Schools.  The high school students impressed me their good manners and desire to get the most out of their education.

Over the next several months Dr. Sipple and I will monitor and evaluate the implementation of the strategic academic, $3 million expenditure and fiscal improvement plans. We will work with the district to strengthen financial controls and benchmark the district against other districts to identify opportunities for greater efficiencies. We will also work to identify funds to support more enhanced course offerings.

Finally, I look forward to continuing to meet with parents, students, educators and taxpayers throughout the school year.

Chuck Szuberla
State Monitor


14 de octubre de 2016

Quiero agradecerles a todos los padres, estudiantes y contribuyentes que asistieron el 28 de septiembre a la reunión pública con la Comisionada Mary Ellen Elia, el Dr. John Sipple y conmigo. Nos acompañaron la Rectora del Consejo de Educación Pública, Betty Rosa, los regentes Judith Johnson y Lester Young, el Presidente de la Junta Directiva Escolar, Yehuda Weissmendl, y la Superintendente Deborah Wortham. Fue una excelente oportunidad para hablar en persona con muchos de ustedes y conocer sus inquietudes.

Tal como hablamos en la reunión del 28 de septiembre, el 6 de octubre comenzó para todos los estudiantes el jardín de infantes de día completo. Tuve la suerte de visitar en la Escuela primaria de Summit Park a los estudiantes del jardín de infantes de las clases de la Sra. Menarche y la Sra. Feinstein.  Quedé muy impresionado por el entusiasmo de los niños y sus ansias de aprender.

También observé la primera clase de danza de los estudiantes de la Sra. Feinstein. Asimismo, el 6 de octubre se comenzó la enseñanza de danza, música, teatro y arte, con música instrumental para banda/orquesta en los grados de 4 a 6 y el coro de 6 grado. Si tiene alguna pregunta con respecto a la agenda del programa de artes, comuníquese con el director de su escuela.

El 7 de octubre visité a los profesores y estudiantes en las escuelas secundarias de Ramapo y Spring Valley.  Los estudiantes me impresionaron por sus buenos modales y su deseo de aprovechar al máximo su educación.

Durante los próximos varios meses, el Dr. Sipple y yo controlaremos y evaluaremos la implementación de la academia estratégica, los gastos de $3 millones de dólares y los planes de mejora fiscal. Trabajaremos junto con el distrito para fortalecer los controles financieros y comparar a este distrito con otros, con el fin de identificar oportunidades que brinden una mayor eficiencia. También trabajaremos para identificar fondos para dar apoyo a mejores ofertas de cursos.

Por último, espero seguir conociendo a padres, estudiantes, educadores y contribuyentes durante todo el año escolar.

Chuck Szuberla
Supervisor del estado


14 Oktòb 2016

Mwen vle di mèsi pou tout paran, elèv ak kontribiyab ki te patisipe nan reyinyon piblik 28 septanm nan avèk Manm Komisyon MaryEllen Elia, Dr. John Sipple ak mwen. Konsèy Administrasyon Regents, Chanselye Betty Rosa, Regent Judith Johnson ak Regent Lester Young ak Prezidan Konsèy Administrasyon Lekòl Yehuda Weissmendl ak Sipè-Entandan Deborah Wortham te chita ansanm ak nou. Se te yon bon jan okazyon pou pale avèk anpil nan nou fas-a-fas epi tande enkyetid ou yo.

Tankou nou te diskite nan reyinyon 28 septanm nan, lekòl matènèl tout lajounen pou tout elèv yo te kòmanse nan dat 6 oktòb. Mwen te gen chans ase pou vizite elèv klas matènèl yo nan klas Madam Menarche ak klas Madam Feinstein nan Summit Park Elementary School. Mwen te sezi anpi pou wè kijan elèv yo te gen pasyon ak eksitasyon pou yo aprann.

Mwen  t ap obsève kijan elèv Madam Feinstein yo t ap patisipe nan premye klas dans yo. Enstwiksyon nan dans, mizik, teyat ak boza yo te lanse tou nan dat 6 oktòb avèk mizik enstriman pou klas 4yèm-6yèm ane pou bann/òkès ak koral klas 6yèm ane. Si ou gen nenpòt kesyon sou orè pou pwogram boza yo, ou ta dwe kontakte direktè lekòl ou.

Nan dat 7 oktòb, mwen te vizite edikatè yo ak elèv yo nan Ramapo High School ak Spring Valley High School. Elèv lekòl segondè yo te enpresyone mwen avèk bon mannyè yo ap dezi yo pou yo pifò enstwiksyon nan edikasyon yo.

Nan pwochen kèk mwa k ap vini yo, Doktè Sipple ak mwen pral kontwole ak evalye aplikasyon pwogram akademik estratejik, depans $3 milyon dola ak plan fiskal yo pou amelyorasyon. N ap travay avèk distri a pou ranfòse kontwòl finansye epitou n ap konpare distri a avèk lòt distri yo pou idantifye posiblite pou pi bon efikasite. N ap travay tou pou idantifye fon pou sipòte kou ki amelyore n ap ofri yo.

Finalman, mwen espere kontinye rankontre avèk paran yo, elèv yo, edikatè yo, ak kontribiyab yo pandan tout ane lekòl la.

Chuck Szuberla
Verifikatè Leta

Message from State Monitor Chuck Szuberla